Articles

IT in my workplace.

In Uncategorized on February 2, 2010 by nimmida

I’ve been working as a student assistance clerical at Thomas Jefferson Library. IT is an important tool that I use everyday. To support the academic mission and long-term goals of the University, TJ Library provides various information resources. Current periodicals and bound journals located on level 5 are my responsibilities that I have to take care of. Every morning the mails arrive at the library, my duties are collecting, selecting, and sending to the respective departments. Later, I use Millennium serials to check in all coming journals into Merlin catalog. I also use Millennium serials to bind the complete volume of each journal and do a record of every bound journal.

MERLIN is the shared online library catalog for all of the libraries in the University of Missouri system. It informs you what items the libraries own. You can use several search options;

  •  type some search terms or a phrase into the main search box and click ‘search.’ (This is called a Keyword search.)
  •  Click any of the other types of searches for example, author, title, journal title, author & title, subject, number.
  •  try the Advanced Search option to combine or exclude terms and limit your results by year, location, material type, etc.

Leave a comment